MLK Header Banner Image

Martin Luther King Jr. Community Service Awards

Thursday, January 20, 2022 from 4pm-5:30pm
Virtual Awards Ceremony

2022 Community Awards Video and Program


To the Metropolitan Atlanta Community:

For over 20 years, the Rollins School of Public Health and the Goizueta Business School have honored the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. through the Martin Luther King, Jr. Community Service Awards Program. This celebration grew out of a 1993 conversation between Dr. Joyce Essien and then Dean of the Rollins School of Public Health (RSPH), Ray Greenburg, where they agreed that it was time to align the mission and values of Public Health with the precepts of social justice. Since then, RSPH has been joined by other Emory schools, including the Goizueta Business School, Emory School of Medicine , and the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing have to sponsor this celebratory event. With support from James Curran, Dean of the Rollins School of Public Health, Karen Sedatole, Interim Dean of the Goizueta Business School, Vikas Sukhatme, Dean of the School of Medicine, Linda A. McCauley, Dean of the School of Nursing and as well as with the diligent work of faculty, staff, and students, this program has grown to be a major event on the calendar of King Week activities held at Emory. Our program is the only event that has consistently recognized and celebrated people and organizations in greater Atlanta whose work exemplifies the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

This year’s awards celebration is centered on MLK Jr.’s quote- “Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.” With this, we recognize that despite the difficult times our communities and country have faced this year, there are people and moments that lift us up.

This year’s award will recognize individuals and groups from the Emory and Atlanta communities for their outstanding and unparalleled response to break down injustice through activism and voting. Nominees may have demonstrated, but are not limited to actions or initiatives within the broader Atlanta communities that extend beyond typical responsibilities in service of addressing an issue or challenging injustice.

> 2022 Community Service Awards Video
> 2022 Community Awards Program


Sarah C. Blake, PhD, MA
Co-Chair, Rollins School of Public Health

Stella Clarke-Dubose
Co-Chair, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing

Sheryl Heron, MD, MPH
Co-Chair, School of Medicine

Lynne Segall, MBA
Co-Chair, Goizueta Business School

Please contact Dr. Sarah Blake ( with any questions.


MLK Footer Banner Image