Rollins Celebrates Its One-of-A-Kind Community With First All School Awards Ceremony

May 2, 2023
Daniele Fallin and the IT Services Team at Rollins School of Public Health
Members of the Technology Services Department pose with Dean Fallin as they receive the Innovation Award.

Faculty, staff, and students packed the Margaret H. Rollins Room in late April as members of the Rollins community convened for the school’s first annual RSPH Awards Ceremony. An initiative led by the dean’s office, the ceremony was established to bring people together across Rollins, provide a venue for public recognition, and to celebrate the community’s collective achievements at the end of the academic year.

The room was abuzz with anticipation as friends and colleagues from across the school gathered to celebrate, reconnect, and cheer each other on. Dean M. Daniele Fallin, PhD, kicked off the ceremony with a warm welcome and thank you to all present, noting the collective excellence of everyone at Rollins. “Before joining Rollins as dean, I kept hearing how incredible the people at Rollins are. And, after a year as dean, I can confidently say the rumors are true. What an exceptional community we have!”

New Awards Honor Faculty, Staff, and Students  

In addition to honoring faculty, staff, and student recipients of longstanding department, university, and organizational awards, the event also introduced a number of newly developed awards as envisioned and led by members of the staff council, research advisory committee, and practice award committee, with a special emphasis on highlighting the contributions of staff.

Newly created school-based awards include the:

  • Early Career Research Excellence Award
  • Senior Research Excellence Award
  • Faculty DEI Leadership Award
  • Faculty Practice Award
  • Dean Surbey Staff Award of Distinction
  • Award for Excellence in Research or Practice
  • Staff Excellence Award in Leadership
  • Staff DEI Leadership Award, Innovation Award
  • Student DEI Leadership Award

A Tribute to the Gangarosa Family 

Among the event’s highlights were a heartfelt tribute from Deborah McFarland, PhD, associate professor of global health, recognizing the exceptional legacy of the late Eugene J. Gangarosa and extending a public thank you to his wife Rose and son Raymond who were in attendance.

Standing Ovation for the Technology Team

The entire room jumped to their feet and gave a standing ovation to this year’s Innovation Award winner, which went to the Technology Services Department for their extensive work implementing and supporting the IT infrastructure needs of the entire Rollins community, particularly as it related to the opening of the R. Randall Rollins Building.

2023 RSPH Award Winners

Departmental Teaching Awards

Heather Bradley- Department of Epidemiology

Jeremy Grey- Executive MPH Program

Umed Ibragimov- Department of Behavioral, Social, and Health Education Sciences 

Donghai Liang- Gangarosa Department of Environmental Health

Razieh Nabi, Department of Biostatistics and Bioinformatics

Richard Sanders- Department of  Health Policy and Management

Melissa Young- Hubert Department of Global Health

Faculty Practice Award Winners

Moose Alperin and Allison Chamberlain

Thomas F. Sellers, Jr., MD Award for Support of Faculty Colleagues in Public Health

Michele Marcus

Early Career Research Excellence Awards

Donghai Liang and Melissa Young

Senior Research Excellence Award Winners

Tom Clasen and Neel Gandhi 

Award for Excellence in Research or Practice

Shirin Jabbarzadeh

Staff Excellence Award in Leadership

Angie Campbell

Innovation Award

Technology Services Department

Dean Surbey Staff Award of Distinction

Erin Cahill, Eve Rose, Kent Tolleson, and Joanne Williams

Faculty DEI Leadership Award

Whitney Rice

Staff DEI Leadership Award

Rachel Corbett

Student DEI Leadership Award

Stephanie Woodson

Rollins School of Public Health Student Government Professor of the Year Award

José Binongo

Rollins School of Public Health Student Government Staff Member of the Year Award

Noni Bourne and Ruwenne Moodley

Livingston Scholars Fund

Katherine Anderson- Behavioral, Social, and Health Education Sciences

Steph Bellman- Environmental Health Sciences

Melissa Chapnick- Nutrition Health Sciences

Carol Liu- Epidemiology

Sonia Maria Tetlow- Health Services Research and Health Policy

Shiyu Wang- Biostatistics and Bioinformatics

Emory Woman’s Club Scholarship

Nicole Stephan

Eugene J. Gangarosa, MD Student Award for Excellence in International Health

Brian Tolleson 

James W. Alley, MD, Student Award for Outstanding Community Service

Quasheba Allen