Charles R. Hatcher Award

Charles R. Hatcher, Jr. In 1996, the Rollins School of Public Health recognized Dr. Charles R. Hatcher, Jr., vice president for health affairs and director of the Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center, for his long service and support of public health. In his honor, the Dr. Charles R. Hatcher, Jr. Award was created to honor faculty members of the Health Sciences Center who, through their lifetime of work, exemplify excellence in public health.
Dr. Hatcher was the first recipient of this award. Other recipients include Drs. W. Dallas Hall, Glen F. Maberly, Luella Klein, Annette Frauman, William H. Foege, and Arthur L. Kellermann, Michael M.E. Johns, Michael H. Kutner, and Nanette K. Wenger.

The Hatcher Award Winners

  • 2021-2022: James W. Curran, MD, MPH
  • 2020-2021: Carlos del Rio, MD
  • 2019-2020: Claire E. Sterk, PhD
  • 2018-2019: David S. Stephens, MD
  • 2017-2018: Kathleen Miner, PhD, MPH, CHES
  • 2016-2017: J. William Eley, MD, MPH
  • 2015-2016: Linda A. McCauley, RN, PhD
  • 2014-2015: John E. McGowan, MD
  • 2013-2014: Thomas J. Lawley, MD
  • 2012-2013: Eugene J. Gangarosa, MD
  • 2011-2012: Nanette K. Wenger, MD
  • 2010-2011: Michael H. Kutner, PhD
  • 2006-2007: Michael M.E. Johns, MD
  • 2004-2005: Arthur L. Kellermann, MD, MPH
  • 2002-2003: William H. Foege, MD, MPH
  • 2001-2002: Annette C. Frauman, RN, PhD, FAAN
  • 1999-2000: Luella Klein, MD
  • 1998-1999: Glen F. Maberly, MD
  • 1997-1998 : W. Dallas Hall, MD
  • 1996-1997: Charles R. Hatcher, Jr., MD