Faculty, staff honored for teaching, mentoring and more

May 17, 2018

Emory University faculty and staff were recognized with multiple awards at the 2018 school diploma ceremonies.

Among those honored were the winners of the Emory Williams Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award. It was established in 1972 by alumnus and longtime trustee Emory Williams to honor faculty for fostering participation, inquiry and creative expression in the classroom; providing a model for teaching and scholarship, mentoring students, and more.

The following awards were conferred:

Rollins School of Public Health

Thomas Sellers AwardKimberly R. Jacob Arriola, professor, Department of Behavioral Sciences and Health Education

SGA Faculty of the YearW. Michael Caudle, associate professor, Department of Environmental Health

SGA Staff of the YearRalph Valenzuela Jr., fulfilment services rep II

Candler School of Theology

Exemplary Teacher Award from the United Methodist Church General Board of Higher Education and Ministry: Director of General and Advanced Studies Studies Steven J. Kraftchick, professor in the practice of New Testament

Presented at Candler’s Honors Day Convocation:
Staff Person of the Year: Sarah Bogue, reference and instruction librarian at Pitts Theology Library 

Faculty Person of the Year: Kwok Pui Lan, Distinguished Visiting Professor of Theology

On Eagle’s Wings Excellence in Teaching Award: Brent A. Strawn, professor of Old Testament

Emory College of Arts and Sciences

Emory Williams Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award: Jose Soria, senior lecturer in the Department of Chemistry; Valerie Loichot, professor of French and English; Tracy Scott, senior lecturer, Department of Sociology.

Emory College Award for Academic Advising: Bree Ettinger, lecturer, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science

George P. Cuttino Award: Eric Weeks, Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor of Physics

Emory University School of Law

Most Outstanding Professor: Frank Alexander, Sam Nunn Professor of Law and founding director of the Center for the Study of Law and Religion

Emory University School of Medicine

Evangeline Papageorge Teaching Award: Stefan Tigges, professor of radiology and imaging services

Goizueta Business School

Emory Williams Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award: Wesley Longhofer, assistant professor of organization and management

Marc F. Adler Prize for Excellence in Teaching: Ramnath Chellappa, associate dean and academic director of the MSBA program

Donald R. Keough Award for Excellence (faculty): Anand Swaminathan, Goizueta Chair in Organization and Management

Donald R. Keough Award for Excellence (staff): Jalisa Norton, administrative assistant for Information Systems and Operations Management

Laney Graduate School

Eleanor Main Graduate Mentor Award (faculty): Patricia Bauer, Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Psychology

Eleanor Main Graduate Mentor Award (student): Osric Forrest, 2018 graduate of the Immunology and Molecular Pathogenesis doctoral program

Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing

Emory Williams Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award: Melissa I. Owen, assistant clinical professor of nursing

Oxford College

Emory Williams Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award: Florian Pohl, associate professor of religion


Associated Topics: