Rollins Students Receive Healthcare Innovation Seed Grants

March 30, 2018

Five students from the Emory Rollins School of Public Health are involved with projects that received Healthcare Innovation Student Seed Grants through the Emory Georgia Tech Healthcare Innovation Program, offered in partnership with Georgia Clinical & Translational Science Alliance and Georgia State University. These grants are open to students from Emory University, Georgia Tech, Morehouse School of Medicine, and Georgia State University and are assigned faculty advisors from either Emory or Georgia State.

Grants go toward funding multidisciplinary teams proposing innovative research and education projects that address issues of health care quality, costs and/or access. This year, four projects were announced as winners. Each multidisciplinary team will receive up to $5,000 of funding for up to one year.

Of the 24 persons composing these four teams, five are Rollins students and three are Rollins faculty sponsors. Two of the projects' principal investigators are Rollins students: Mackenzie Leonard, MPH candidate 2019; and Caitlin Allen, MPH, doctoral student. 

The Healthcare Innovation Program is an interactive network among members of the Georgia Clinical and Translational Science Alliance that provides information, resources, and community connectivity to support and enhance innovation in health care research, education and service.