Rollins professors named American Statistical Association Fellows

May 23, 2016

Three faculty members in the Department of Biostatistics and Bioinformatics at the Rollins School of Public Health at Emory University were named Fellows of the American Statistical Association (ASA).  The fellows will be recognized in August during the ASA Joint Statistical Meeting Awards Ceremony in Chicago, Illinois.

The designation of ASA Fellow is highly selective. Nominees must have an established reputation in the profession and have made outstanding and noteworthy contributions to statistical science.  The three new ASA Fellows include:

Limin Peng, PhD, associate professor, was nominated for significant advancement of methodology for survival analysis specifically in the areas of competing or semi-competing risks and censored quantile regression; for significant multidisciplinary collaborations; for excellence in graduate education; and for dedicated service to the profession including editorial service.

Qi Long, PhD, associate professor, was nominated for foundational methodological development across a wide variety of domains, including missing data, causal inference and functional data analysis, with applications to clinical trials, omics data analysis, and electronic health record data; for leadership in cardiovascular disease and cancer research; for advising and mentoring leading students in the field; and for service as journal editor, conference organizer, and grant reviewer. 

Eugene Huang, PhD, professor, was nominated for innovative and novel contributions to non- and semi-parametric survival models, and to functional modeling methods for covariate measurement error in nonlinear regression; for extensive collaborative efforts in biomedical research; and for graduate education and service to the profession. 

“We are extremely proud of this exceptional achievement,” says Lance Waller, PhD, professor and chair in the Department of Biostatistics and Bioinformatics at Rollins School of Public Health.  “This is a great honor for all three of our faculty members and a true testament to their expertise and success.”